why do you run

why do you run when i say
i’m scared of dying
taking my last step on a dark
staircase lights fade one last time
leave me in a place of nightmares
where i might encounter a familiar face

i used to paint your face
whilst daydreaming about what i’d say
the next time i saw you, i did have nightmares
that you wouldn’t remember me and i’d see you dying
all over again like time
had stood still in the dark

these past 3 years have felt lile the darkest
pain, but just to see your face
only one more time
and all the pain would be worth it, i could say
i’d forget my fear of dying
but nightmares

have a way of finding me, nightmares
aren’t afraid of the dark
they’re not worried about dying
they’ll always be written on someone else’s face
but i’m sorry i couldn’t say
that when it’s my time

to be called home, when the time
comes and the clock no longer ticks, silenced nightmares
i hope you’ll say
there will be a good day when the dark
ones pass, memorise every inch of my face
now, because darling we all die
a little every day

i wonder what happens when you die
as long as i have time
to say goodbye, think of all the faces
gone by that visit us in dreams and nightmares
that only come out after dark
they just want to say

that faces still sail after death
they say it all gets easier with time
and nightmares are just thoughts in the dark

Leave a comment